To merge projects select a source project from the ‘Source Project’ dropdown.
Then select a target project by using the tree chart generated below. The chart displays any parent and child branches that exist. The ‘Full Screen’ button enlarges the tree chart to fill the entire window.
At the bottom the ‘Differences’ table displays any changes, additions, deletions, and restores to be merged from the source project into the target project.
If there are more than 1000 additions, changes, deletions, or restores the count will be abbreviated to ‘999+’.
If there are more than 2000 additions, changes, deletions, or restores then the table will provide a ‘Load More’ button which will load up to the next 2000 updates to be viewed in the table. Note: Although updates over 2000 are not visible on the table without loading more, all of the available updates will still be merged in the merging process.
Select the ‘Merge’ button at the bottom of the page.
Review the information in the modal. Then select the ‘Confirm Merge’ button at the bottom of the modal.
Select the ‘Go To Target Project’ button once the merge is complete in order to navigate to the newly merged target project. Or close the modal to stay on the current page.
Merging changes, deletions, and restores into the target branch will initially cause duplicate updates. These are not actually duplicates but visually they will appear as such.
The project outlined in red is the source project (parent project) and has updates to be merged into the target project (child project) outlined in blue.
After merging the updates, and returning to the ‘Project Version Control’ view, select the old target project (child project) as the new source project outlined in red, and the old source project (parent project) as the new target project outlined in blue.
The exact updates that were merged into the old target project (child project) are displayed in the differences table as if they are new updates. If merge is selected again, at this point, both branches will be up to date according to the system, but no additional changes to the database will have been made.